The Lotus Flower

Journey into the Moment

Peace….

I feel it is time to resurrect this blog…pun intended. I will post once a week, every Wednesday, and I will share my spiritual practices and beliefs and talk about issues around mental health and 12-step recovery. I hope, dear reader, that you will benefit from this blog but my main purpose is to use this blog to feed my own soul and to encourage its growth.

I also want to have this blog be a light in this dark world. I don’t mean for that to sound grandiose its just that there is always depressing news in the world and we live in a time where 24 hour news networks give us a constant stream of negativity and divisive opinions. I want this blog to be a focus on the positive.

Right now there has been constant fighting between Palestinians and Israeli’s. There is Civil War in Syria and ISIS is spreading hate and terror through the world. Oh, how I long for peace and a time when we no longer want to kill one another over our beliefs and who owns the land.

So today I will leave you with the words from the Peace Poem by John Denver, a great singer song-writer and a voice for Peace in this world.

The Peace Poem

There’s a name for war and killing
there’s a name for giving in
when you know another answer
for me the name is sin
but there’s still time to turn around
and make all hatred cease
and give another name to living
and we could call it peace

And peace would be the road we walk
each step along the way
and peace would be the way we work
and peace the way we play

And in all we see that’s different
and in all the things we know
peace would be the way we look
and peace the way we grow

There’s a name for separation
there’s a name for first and last
when it’s all for us or nothing
for me the name is past
but there’s still time to turn around
and make all hatred cease
and give a name to all the future
and we could call it peace

And if peace is what we pray for
and peace is what we give
then peace will be the way we are
and peace the way we live

Yes there still is the time to turn around
and make all hatred cease
and give another name to living
and we can call it peace

John Denver – The Peace Poem

Leave a Reply

